• Jasmine Blake Hollywood, MS, HHP

What are Chakras and What do their Colors really mean?

Updated: Sep 18, 2020

When were Chakras Discovered?

In order to learn about the colors of chakras and what they mean, we need to learn about where the term originated. There are debates about exactly when Chakras were discovered. Some websites and books claim it was part of a religion that dates back early between 1,500 BC and 500 BC. However according to Shashikumar, in chapter 3 of Philosophy of Tantra, it originated from India and historians and scholars say that the chakras are part of the practices of yoga, Tantra, and meditation. [10]. All of these practices can be traced to the Indus Valley civilization in India and they claim it dates as far back as 2,700 BC. [10].

What is Tantra Yoga?

Chakras are associated with Tantra yoga and Tantric yoga was first described in the oldest scriptures of India called the Vedic scriptures known as Agama. [10]. Tantra reflects Hinduism and Buddism. [10]. These two religions believe that not any one particular religion is false, but instead are open to all forms of worship and accept them. [10]. Tantras philosophy promotes the seeking of eternal truth during the continuous changes of human conditions in life. [10].

The Tantra religion itself deals in psychic energy centers. [10]. The word "chakra" means the wheel. It can be a wheel of time, a wheel of life, a wheel of rhythm, or a wheel of creation. Either way, it means circle or cylindrical, to be round, to be centered. So, you can interpret that chakras are used to describe the energy centers of the body and was created sometime during the era of the Tantra religion. [10]. On a metaphysical level, the goal of this practice is come to self-realization and to personally integrate the physical, mental, and emotional dimensions of the body with the universe that surrounds us all. [10].

The views of the Tantra religion in relation to chakras and Kundalini yoga in Western civilization came from a book, Sir John Woodroffe’s The Serpent Power (1919), a very serious book. [10]. Inside Woodruff’s book chapters describe things like Shakta metaphysics and cosmology, types of yoga such as Patanjali Yoga and Tantric practice, as well as the chakras themselves. [4]. This is a great book to read, but there is more to the Tantric religion and chakra philosophy.

What is Kundalini?

Kundalini is a type of yoga that bases their practices on the meaning that if a person understands the [true nature of all that surrounds us] and has harmony with it, the action and knowledge of this understanding can continue with the Law of Nature. [1]. This relationship with true nature leads to the purification of energies (soul) and gives results. [1]. Kundalini is the actual energy and not actual consciousness. [2]. It's described more in relation to a metaphysical or psychic level of understanding of experiences.

Various sources describe these chakras and there is some argumentation of whether there are 5, 6, 7, or 8 of these main centers within the human body. However, according to Dhanapthi P. Ph.D. in Yoga for Human Excellence, there are "6 subtle centers called padmas (chakras), invisible to our senses, that could be experienced through the eyes of yoga."[2]. This leaves 1 center as being the center that connects us with divinity. Nonetheless, another researcher S. Nithya Ph.D. of Yoga, claims there are 7 centers. [8]. Therefore, we can all assume that both are correct and there are a total of chakra centers.

Nadis are the small nerves that run throughout the body. [2]. There are said to be more than 700 million of these. [2]. The centers are used to represent the Kundalini chakras. [2]. Also, the Kundalini chakras are energy centers that align in ascending order with the vertebrae of the human spine, which are more detailed in the explanation below. The 7 chakras are also represented by colors, but this discovery is said to be new and not part of the original representation of the Tantric religion.

What are Auras?

An aura is a personal energy field. [5]. It is like a magnetic field or shield type of energy that surrounds a human being. [5]. It is our [own] personal shield of energy and each human being is said to have one. [9]. There are few studies have actually shown this to be true. Nonetheless, we have already proven that microscopic electrons exist since this theory and it only makes sense that would come together to form an energetic fingerprint that represents a specific formation of colors.

A small number of studies have said that auras have several colors of energy. [9]. These colors are represented by the chakra centers and are the energy sources within us that are aligned with our physical, mental, and emotional being. [9]. Some people believe that Kundalini chakras if controlled properly, can vitalize certain parts of the body and improve certain bodily functions and processes. As well, to control these energies will help maintain mental, physical, and emotional balance. In addition, Carl Jung, a well-known psychiatrist has said the Kundalini is the medium for consciousness and expressed this practice as the concept for specifying our own experiences accompanied by the unconscious. [2].

In theory, the energy of creation is all around us and is what makes us. Molecules made from electrons circle and attract to one another. The source of the force of this energy is supposed to be trapped in the base of the body or base of the spine. Furthermore, it is said the purpose of kundalini yoga is to actually awaken or even strengthen these areas until union with the energy of creation that surrounds us is achieved throughout the physical, mental, and emotional dimensions.

The 7 Chakras

Since the 7 chakras are the most commonly found in literature, we will focus on these. The 7 chakras are called [4]:

  1. Muladhara = the Root/Base

  2. Svadhisthana = the Sacral

  3. Manipura = the Solar Plexus

  4. Anahata = the Heart

  5. Vishuddha = the Throat

  6. Ajna = the Third-Eye/Brow

  7. Sahasrara = the Crown

How do humans see Colors?

In the 17th century, Isaac Newton discovered that by reflecting light through prisms he could manipulate electrons and wavelengths. [3]. He found certain colors that we could visibly see (red, orange, yellow, etc..) could change at different wavelength capacities when reflected through prisms of glass. [3]. Red light, for example, could bend more than violet light. He discovered that red light was at one end of the [visible region] spectrum and violet was on the other. [11].

Visible light is said to contain all of the colors of the rainbow and an object gets its color due to how the electrons absorb energy from light. The electrons create electromagnetic radiation (energy) that exists within magnetic fields. [11]. The nature of light is described in variables that represent frequencies, wavelengths, speeds, and amplitudes. [11]. All light (waves of electromagnetic radiation) travel at the same speed but differ in frequencies, which create different wavelengths, which are known to us as colors. Electrons can get hyperactive or excited and the more energy they absorb the shorter the wavelengths become. [11]. Eventually, frequency portrays a specific color of visible light. [11].

Chakras and Colors

Each of the 7 Chakras has a color now assigned to it thanks to the Western interpretation of Eastern philosophy. Researchers began associating the chakra psychic centers to the spectrum of light and can now be regarded considerably as a basic Chemistry 101 lesson.